CLICK HERE FOR BLOGGER TEMPLATES AND MYSPACE LAYOUTS »

Sunday, March 1, 2009

Skippy Peanut Butter

Skippy says that when buying their peanut butters, to look out for the following ingredients as they may come from animal sources:

  • Meat
  • Fat
  • Extract
Yes... very vague and I doubt they would be exactly listed as such on the label. The person who replied back didn't seem that friendly. In the question I sent I just mentioned that I was Muslim and that I follow a certain diet (due to religious laws) and they responded weirdly to it... or maybe it's just me!

Hi Lazeena,

Our products are formulated for use by the majority of consumers and not specifically for those on restricted diets.

Ingredients derived from animal origins may be listed as meat, fat and extract (e.g., chicken, beef or natural flavors).


Changes in existing products can occur without notification. We suggest reading all ingredient labels carefully.


Hope this information is helpful!
Your friends at Skippy

UHMM....?? Maybe I'll try again and maybe someone else may respond and make more sense!


4 comments:

Umm Ismail said...

Subhana Allah not to Clear So its like Ht formulated for Us not you or every one in mind who Adheres to halal or Kosher mmmmmmm. A little bit of this a little bit of that who cares it peanut butter to us Kinda Reply lol.


Ummismail

Anonymous said...

I was checking the Skippy website and as I was looking at the FAQ's, one of the questions was:
12.Is Skippy® peanut butter kosher?

Answer: All varieties are certified OU.

Source: http://www.peanutbutter.com/faq.aspx

...So, how could they tell you that some contain meat and what not while they are all kosher. Or maybe they use Kosher meat, which is still not halal.

Faiz said...

How about yogood peanut butter? Can u please check it for me please..

Black Bear said...

I always thought that kosher slaughter was acceptable for Halal although Halal slaughter not kosher.