Saturday, July 25, 2009

Mystery Animal Source in Cheetos

Hi Lazeena,

Thank you for writing to us.
The list on our website is a list of products that DO NOT contain pork. The enzyme used to make the cheese used in Cheetos Crunchy is from an animal source, but not pork.

Most cheese is made using animal enzymes animal. The source of the enzyme lends to the flavor of the cheese.

We consider you a valued consumer and hope you will continue to enjoy snacks from Frito-Lay.

Best regards,

Frito-Lay Consumer Affairs

This is not the first time Cheetos has told me about 'other animal ingredients' in their Cheetos. In 2 previous e-mails they've told me the same exact thing. Also, whenever I inquire about what specific animal they tell me 'not pork' or 'if you have any allergies or religious dietary restrictions please avoid eating Cheetos'

Monday, July 13, 2009


I'm sure to most of you this is old news by now. Skittles indeed have been gelatin-free since around January, but there are still some people slowly finding out about it and rejoicing that they are now able to taste the rainbow alhamdulillah haha.

However, most likely there is a small trace of alcohol in it, for those who are wary of alcohol in foods, wAllahu ta'ala alam.