CLICK HERE FOR BLOGGER TEMPLATES AND MYSPACE LAYOUTS »

Saturday, January 31, 2009

Pop Tarts!

Kellogg's says:

Products containing beef gelatin include all varieties of Kellogg's® Frosted Pop-Tarts®
Though they said this, there were a handful of flavors I found that did not contain gelatin (at least on the package's ingredients list). However, this doesn't mean they are free of any animal products. These varieties include:
  • Kellogg's® Pop-Tarts® Apple Cinnamon toaster pastries

  • Kellogg's® Pop-Tarts® Blueberry toaster pastries

  • Kellogg's® Pop-Tarts® Brown Sugar Cinnamon toaster pastries

  • Kellogg's® Pop-Tarts® Strawberry toaster pastries
I must say, I thought they were only like 5 kinds of fruity flavored Pop Tart flavors but boy was I wrong. They have a whole bunch of exotic and non-breakfasty type flavors.. (note this image doesn't inclue all flavors... there are more!)


18 comments:

Asiya said...

NOOOOOOOOOOOOO
I cannot believe I never checked the ingredients for GELATIN in this. I always catch gelatin! But in a Pop Tart? Wow I am very surprised! I guess I should resort to something healthier anyway. I can't get over the fact I never found gelatin on the box.. but I'm looking at my cookie dough pop tart box now and can see GELATIN clearly listed! I dont want to waste them so I will toss them outside for the non-Muslim birds hahaha

Thanks for the notification on this one!!!

Maliha said...

Okay thanks, I was thinking about getting these but good to know the information. Shurkan

Saffana said...

I tink gelatin is present in all sort of pop-tarts......I'm sure of the smores, strawberry and brown sugar cinnamon. Another thing is, isn't animal gelatin haram? I thought any source of animal fat or ingredient is haram because they are not slaughtered in the halal way. If anybody is looking for substitutes of pop-tart, I'd suggest granola bars.

Anonymous said...

unpop tarts are made with type b gelatin (vegtable,beef).

Anonymous said...

Nature's Path Organic toaster Pastries (found at most grocery chains like Kroger and Meijer in the health food section) do not have geletain and taste just as good. They are about $3.39 per box.

Heather said...

In response to Saffana -

The NON-frosted strawberry and blueberry (the only nonfrosted I can get where I live!!) don't list gelatin as an ingredient. (Carmine? That I'll have to check for next time I'm at the store.)

To my knowledge, ALL the frosted PopTarts varieties use gelatin in the frosting. (Just to clarify.)

I'm just saddened that the frosted type have so overwhelmed the market that it's very difficult to find any kind of the nonfrosted anymore! I used to eat these (nonfrosted, which was plenty sweet enough) every morning during the summer, at my grandma's house! There were MANY nonfrosted varieties to choose from then.

Anonymous said...

^yea the author says that about non frosted onez

Meaghan Schmitt said...

I looked up the ingredients online for these pop-tarts, and although I couldn't find apple cinnamon...all the ones you posted *did* say gelatin was in them. :/.

Anonymous said...

Actually it explains here that gelatin in pop tarts are derived from Beef
https://c.getsatisfaction.com/kelloggs/topics/do_you_use_pork_or_beef_gelatin_in_your_pop_tarts

Archangel1222 said...

Just wondering, I researched on them and the company said that only the frosted ones were haram.. Meaning that the frosting is what contains the gelatin; they also said that the ones without gelatin don't have any animal bi-products.. Does that mean only the frosting is haram?? Just wondering :p

Rayann Muhammad said...

Pop tart does not have beef gelatin in it sorry tell the truth..
How do I know for pig gelatin make the product taste good, when put with sugar make pop with goodness that you could go back for more..
Beef gelatin is nice smooth taste in it and the product has a smooth sweetness it that you don't need go back for more...

You must study the product inside and out to know what in product so you halal or haram !

Rayann Muhammad said...

Sorry I forgot a word : so you know it halal or haram !

Mahmoud Simreen said...

Salam and yes most frosting contains gelatin. But it also depends on the gelatin itself of which animal it has come from.

Relax said...

The gelatin in pop tarts is said to come from beef. If anyone has a reliable source confirming otherwise, you can probably ignore this, but if it is from beef than I think that should mean it's halal.

Relax said...
This comment has been removed by the author.
Keno Sultan said...

My name is Keno Sultan and I am a Muslim from Canton, Ohio and from research (careful research at that) Pop Tarts have beef (non-pork) gelatin in them. Only the Froot Loops Marshmallows, Lucky Charms, and Rick Krispies Treats have pork gelatin in them (the Rice Krispies Treats never used to have pork gelatin in them until they put it in them...I nearly ate one by mistake until a brother from Detroit informed me they were pork. I did not know the change until I got wind of it). So the Pop Tarts are consumable (non-pork gelatin). Just not the two marshmallow cereals and the treats. As-salaam alaikum and peace to all Muslims!

Mehdi Fadayi said...

It says the geletain is from beef now does that make it halal since only pork geletain is haram

Unknown said...

My kids always go on about pop tarts but ino most of them have gelatin .but i was delighted to see brown suger cinnamon doest contain this..im thinking of having that cus it doesnt state any gelatin on the ingredients..im i good to go with that