Wednesday, January 7, 2009

Tootsie Rolls - Halal or Haram?

Tootsie Rolls are a chocolate flavored, taffy-like American favorite enjoyed for decades. Recently, they've started making them in fruity flavors as well, such as cherry, lime, orange and a few more.

Some time ago it was known that these candies contained whey derived from animals and were NOT halal to eat. I myself just learned they were haram at some point, though I never ate them much.

However after contacting the company 3 times, they've confirmed that they've changed their recipe and that the only animal derived ingredient in Tootsie Rolls is MILK, which is of course perfectly fine for us to consume.

With that, inshaAllah we can continue to enjoy our Tootsie Rolls =)


NiDa said...

woohoo :D!!! Jazak Allah sis I love this Project of yours - may Allah reward you for it :)InshaAllah

Millz said...

Oh wow when I saw the title of this post I almost wanted to cry. I used to eat tootsie rolls all the time when I was younger. Glad to know they're on the safe list now :)

M.J. said...

YESSS!!! These are my favorite candies, hehe :)

kisshugkisshug said... i can purchase my tootsie rolls for sure

Anonymous said...

Thanks for your effort about this. I found some lack on information in your posting. I bought a bag of tootsie by mistake and still see that the ingredient "whey". I am wondering, did you ask them how did they extract the 'whey' from milk. The 'whey' comes from the milk. The way it processed by using the Rannay from the Pig or Got or Calf.
My question is did you asked them how did the 'whey' took out from the milk? Is this form chemical or fat/Rannay from the animal?

Anonymous said...

Today my son brought Tootsie Roll, I too noticed that "Whey" in the ingredients. Also, muslimconsumergroup says, it is not Halal bcoz no kosher sign. Please everyone should investigate himself/herself, as everyone is responsible for his doings.

Anonymous said...

Hello (: I am so glad to know that Tootsie Rolls are halal. :) Inshallah, Allah, The Almighty, will reward you. Juzzakala-khair. :) Now I can go enjoy my Tootsie Rolls (: Thank u! And, these are my kids favorite candy (BTW, I'm 28) Glad to know that they r on the safe list now :) ALLAH HAFIZ!

Anonymous said...

Assalamu alaykum,

Regarding the 'whey' ingredient - another blogger has reported that the whew in Tootsie Rolls is microbial-derived, not animal-based. The company told him that Tootsie Rolls are now Kosher-certified and are suitable for vegetarians to eat:

Anonymous said...

Hello, I just wanted to you would know anything about the tootsie roll candy cane lollipop was halal..
If you have time, can you please tell me if it is halal?

Anonymous said...

From the same blogger I found that except for Junior Mints, all other Tootsie Roll other products do not contain any animal product

Unknown said...

Is it halal or haram??

Halal Gelatin said...

Gelatin is a natural protein that is derived from the partial hydrolysis of collagen, which exists in the skin and bones of animals. Gelatin is intended for human consumption and mainly used as a gelling agent, a clarifying agent (drink), binding agent for light sensitive silver halides and a thickening agent as well. Commercially available Gelatin is a natural foodstuff and chemically, Gelatin is a pure protein.

Halal Gelatin