Friday, January 23, 2009

Yoplait Yogurt

Yoplait makes a lot of different yogurt types and flavors. The response I got confirmed that all their varieties contain beef gelatin in them. I don't know if this includes their other brands, such as GO-GURT and TRIX YOGURT, but if you see GELATIN on the ingredients labels of these products then it will be beef derived.

Dear Lazeena:

Thank you for contacting Yoplait with your inquiry.

All Yoplait varieties have gelatin which comes from beef and most contain a small amount of alcohol in the flavoring

We hope you find this information helpful.

Please let us know if
we can help you again.

Sincerely, K.R.
Consumer Services

Yoplait Varieties include:

  • Yoplait Original
  • Yoplait Light
  • Yoplait Whips
  • Yoplait Thick & Creamy
  • Yoplait Family Packs, Fridge Packs
  • Yo-Plus
  • Yoplait Kids
  • Gogurt, Trix, and Fizzix (check for Gelatin)


Megan said...

Some brands of yoghurt don't have gelatin in them, but you have to check. I buy Olympic yoghurt, but it isn't such a big brand as Danone.

Lazeena Umm Yusuf said...

Yeah there are a lot of alternatives for yogurt alhamdulillah.

NiDa said...

Gogurt seemed to have 'kosher' gelatin - although I don't eat it I was cheking it out once.

Francesca Najea Lujan said...

As-Salaamu-Alaikum Lazeena,
Thanks for posting all of this useful information.
Fi Iman Ilah,

Eman said...

It's great what you're doing with your post.
To be honest, I never knew these items were not halal.
By the way, where are you originally from, if you dont mind me asking? :)

Lazeena Umm Yusuf said...

As salaamu alaikum Eman. I was born in NY, live in NJ, and my parents are from Guyana (South America). That should answer your question. I visited your page briefly and see you're Yemeni? MashaAllah I love Yemen, it contains so many rich cultures all melded into one. My favorite family is also Yemeni mashaAllah

sadaf ali said...

salams,i am from uk,london.firstly i want to praise u for the effort u r doing,may allah bless u.
i want to know if all products r haram if it has geletin,(is geletin and gluten same thing)
n secondly also if anything has whey in it,is this also haraam?does it have to be only milk whey...what about other whey like wheat whey in biscuits
fi amnullah

Pedagocial Thoughts said...

I am new to your blog. It is very nice sharing your efforts with others. I would follow up with yopliat on their natural flavors and things. Someone once told me it was alcohol derived flavors. But I have no proof.

Anonymous said...

Alcohol flavors doesnt even matter if there is gelatin in it. Not to mention basically everything we eat with artificial flavor has alcohol anyway!

sara said...

assalamu alaikum,

in response to the question posted by Sadaf Ali in Jan 2009-While Gelatin and Gluten are both proteins- they not the same thing. Gelatin is derived from animals' skin, bones, connective tissue-this also includes fish gelatin. Gluten is protein found in grains such as wheat, barley, rye (and possibly others). AS far as the second part of the question regarding Whey- it is specifically a milk protein- anyone allergic to dairy should be cautious when it comes to products containing whey (depending on the type of allergy of course).

Allah knows best and Jazakum Allah Khayran insha'Allah.

Anonymous said...

The yoplait light packs that i get here contain kosher gelatin, and have the K D logo on them.
no mention of alcohol, and the flavoring is natural.
what do you make of it?

Anonymous said...

If a yoplait product says "kosher gelatin" on it, is it halaal???

Anonymous said...

I was really confused whether or not to have the yoplait yogurts, the pineapple and strawberry flavored ones, because it says 'kosher gelatin' on the label, so from what I read on this page, it turns out to me that it is not Halal, atleast we shouldn't have it since we aren't sure if they contain alcohol and even if beef gelatin is used, then that cow was obviously not slaughtered in a Halal way. So we actually shouln't have yoplait yogurts, right? My dad got like an entire box and I have to throw them away now...-_-

Anonymous said...

hello every body..... do anyone know what type of gelatin is found in source0 yogurt?

Anonymous said...

Hey does anyone know if the Tutti Fruti yogurt place contain any gelatin ingredients? thanks, im really curious..

hafsa_khan96 said...

THX!!! there is a lot of confusion about this =)

Anonymous said...

Please refer to a credible source and an athority on the subject matter of halal and haram. This is there job, day in and day out.

Halal Advocates of America: and join there page on facebook to ask any question. Type HFSAA in the search bar.

Maimoona said...

Assalamu Alaykum,

Muslims are confused when they see the KD sign that symbolizes KOSHER DAIRY. Most think it is halaal when they see KD sign, but beware Kosher IS NOT the same as HALAAL. Kosher is for the Jews who do not eat pork just like us Muslims. However, they can eat gelatin from other certain animals. This "kosher gelatin" is not Halaal. Just wanted to let everyone know. Peace and Salaam, Maimoona

ngundang kita said...

Assalamualaikum brthers-sisters...Gelatin from animal is not halal i think,because mostly the murder is.not muslim..

Anonymous said...

Umm.. i still don't under stand if its halal or haraam because it has beef gelatin. i thought inly pork gelatin is haraam.

Anonymous said...

this is anonymous again, can somebody answer my question?

Anonymous said...

OMG! I am new in a non Muslim country and I'm very new to figuring out the haram from halal. It's not as simple as "just avoid meat"
I really thought yoghurt was fine but it seems like it's not. I'm still not sure though because it says kosher gelatin but then again could it have alchohol! OMG it doesn't say on the ingredients list but I can't believe I might have had 5/6 packets of Haraam food. :'(
I hate living in a non Muslim country. This sucks so much. I don't get why muslims migrate to non muslims country and then go through this pain.

Anonymous said...


I was just wondering if my vegan diet essentially avoids all the confusion?

As a former vegetarian, I had to get really good at reading labels, since seemingly vegetarian foods, like yoghurt, might contain gelatin, cochineal, or other products derived from animal slaughter. That may have made it even easier to go vegan, since I'd already become quite practiced at avoiding the slaughter products, and now only had to look out for things like dairy, eggs, and honey. I've been vegan for over a decade.

Is there anything that is vegan which isn't halal or haram? Because I'm thinking, 'No.' :)

Anonymous said...

Assalamu Alaikum,
Muslim brothers and sister i want to lets you know that kosher gelatin is haram, anything that contain the word gelatin it is haram, gelatin is made from pork. so please please tells all other Muslim about that kosher gelatin is Haram is made from pork. don't listen to those people they call themselves Muslim especiall those from USA most of them don't have strong faith. They will say anything they don’t even have a knowledge of it , they would say something is halal when is totally haram, astaghfirullah. Please all Muslim hear me out kosher gelatin is haram haram don't eat it, again anything that contain gelatin is made from pork. and remember in USA is first place where they would put pork in any kind food. Please be very carefully

layla assiff said...

salam I was wondering about danino yogurt.what kind of gelatin.please let me now

Brittany S. said...

ASA Lazeena,

May Allah bless you for your aid in disseminating this type of information to the ummah. JZK! The "kosher gelatin" seems like a halal thing, no? From

"According to the laws of the Torah, the only types of meat that may be eaten are cattle and game that have “cloven hooves” and “chew the cud.” If an animal species fulfills only one of these conditions (for example the pig, which has split hooves but does not chew the cud, or the camel, which chews the cud, but does not have split hooves), then its meat may not be eaten.
Examples of kosher animals in this category are bulls, cows, sheep, lambs, goats, veal, and springbok.
According to the laws of the Torah, to be eaten, a kosher species must be slaughtered by a "Schochet," a ritual slaughterer. Since Jewish Law prohibits causing any pain to animals, the slaughtering has to be effected in such a way that unconsciousness is instantaneous and death occurs almost instantaneously. "

As another poster suggested, it would probably be best if I didn't speculate and instead was able to find Islamic scholarly support for this!

Oh, and to Anonymous from April 3, 2013:
Your ignorance is showing.

Maryam said...

Asalamu Alaikum,

I just wanted to clarify that NOT all kosher gelatin is haram. If kosher gelatin is not made from pork, it is halal. It doesn't matter who slaughtered the cow because there is absolutely no way to find out the slaughterer's religion or beliefs. And how do you know that cows slaughtered in muslim countries are zabihas? It is just an assumption because, well, they are slaughtered in a muslim country. There is no way to prove that the slaughterer is a muslim and that he said Bismillah when he slaughtered it. Besides, most big companies now slaughter using machines. I consume any product containing gelatin as long as it is NOT pork. As for the alcohol, people are not actually aware that even in muslim countries, some products DO contain even a tiny amount of alcohol. I used to live in Egypt and I always purchased soy sauce and imported Betty Crocker products from local stores. Of course I wasn't at all worried about alcohol since I was purchasing them in a muslim country. When I came to the US, I discovered the alcohol in naturally brewed soy sauce (the one containing wheat) and in Betty Crocker products containing natural flavors. I contacted my mom in Egypt and to my surprise, the brand of soy sauce I used to purchase in Egypt is in fact NATURALLY BREWED and the Betty Crocker products do contain natural flavors. I am very certain they are the exact same Betty Crocker products I find here on the shelves with "Box Tops for Education" on them.

As for me, I consume most products with natural flavors in the ingredient list. If it contains alcohol, I believe it is a very tiny amount considering the small amount of natural flavoring used in the product. However, I do not purchase products with significant amounts of alcohol such as pure vanilla extract or most extracts and imitation flavors. I consult my heart in this matter. Our prophet salla allahu alayhi wa sallam said: "Istafti qalabk"

To the comment from April 3, 2013: sorry but you are completely mistaken and you are just making it harder upon yourself

Unknown said...

If it is mentioned that yoplait containz halal gelatin ? Then what do you ppl think?

Anonymous said...

Kosher Gelatin is not Halal , Please see below link for reerence

gelatin, kosher gelatin, wine, alcohol, L-cysteine from human hair, wine vinegar, rum flavor, beer batter then they are considered to be NOT Halal food products.

Kosher gelatin is also obtained from non kosher slaughtered cattle bones and skin in China, which is certified by Rabbi in Florida

Kosher gelatin is also made from pork source and listed as kosher gelatin in some products

Anonymous said...

Kosher Gelatin is not Halal , Please see below link for reerence

gelatin, kosher gelatin, wine, alcohol, L-cysteine from human hair, wine vinegar, rum flavor, beer batter then they are considered to be NOT Halal food products.

Kosher gelatin is also obtained from non kosher slaughtered cattle bones and skin in China, which is certified by Rabbi in Florida

Kosher gelatin is also made from pork source and listed as kosher gelatin in some products

Bashir Ahmad said...

The question is specifically about Gelatin Halal or Haram?

Khurram said...

Yoplait gelatin is using Kosher Gelatin which is not Hakan either.

Gary Host said...

I have contacted yoplait here in Australia and although they use halal gelatine some of their products do include alcohol based flavours. I find that most products which are not certified use halal gelatine for the illusion that it's halal, but it can't be certified because of these alcohol flavourings.

Not saying that all the products use alcohol flavouring, but all the companies that I know of which use halal gelatine (yoplait, Vaalia, ice cream brand, gummy lollies such as Allens) that aren't certified contain halal gelatine with alcohol flavour extractors in a vast amount of products (if not all) that they sell.

This is why I prefer halal certified food over anything else.

Unknown said...

Yoplait I buy today and it has kosher gelatin.

desi-ab said...

I checked and they say .... The gelatin is certified Kosher and carries KD (Kosher Dairy) Certification from Rabbi Barnett Hasden.

desi-ab said...

Kosher is kosher, Jewish dietary requirements are stricter than muslims, yoplait.,com says .. The gelatin is certified Kosher and carries KD (Kosher Dairy) Certification from Rabbi Barnett Hasden.

desi-ab said...

it's from Kosher beef, dont u people gwt it? If it says Kosher beef, then that is what it is, gelatine from Kosher beef. Don't make mockery out of your religion and eat what is Halal and Tayyab as well as Kosher.