Saturday, January 3, 2009

Cabot Cheese

As salaamu alaikum

As we know, it is very hard to find cheeses that are halal. Many of them contain whey and enzymes derived from animals.

A brand some of you may know about is Cabot. Their cheeses are halal, kosher, and approved by the Vegetarian Society alhamdulillah.

Their cheeses come in small, rectangular blocks and they carry a variety of flavors such as Cheddar, Chipotle Cheddar, Sun-Dried Tomato Basil Cheddar, Mild and Sharp Cheddars, Colby and Monterey Jack, among some other flavors and some sliced cheeses.

Their products can be found around the US. Take advantage of their Cabot Product Search to see if any local markets carry their cheeses. You can even order from online!

Here is the email sent to me by their Customer Satisfaction Rep.

Thank you for contacting Cabot and asking your fine question. Here at Cabot, everyone from the farm to the shipping docks feels a strong commitment to the quality standards of our award-winning products. We are always happy to provide our consumers with information that will help them to better understand... and enjoy...Cabot products.

Traditionally, the rennet used for making cheddar cheese was derived from the lining of calves' stomachs. Today, however, Cabot utilizes a microbial-based enzyme that mimics the rennet to manufacture ALL of its award-winning cheeses. The enzyme is added to the milk to coagulate it into curds and whey. Cabot's enzyme is approved by the Vegetarian Society and our Cabot cheeses are certified kosher and halal.

All Cabot Cheeses are animal by-products free, including Pig. Also, our cheeses are made without any animal rennet. During the cheese making process, the whey is drained from the curds and only the curds are used in producing the cheese. The only product that contains whey protein concentrate is our Cheddar Shake. The mono-diglycerides that are listed in our 75% Reduced Fat Cheddar is plant based.

Thank you again for contacting Cabot. Please feel free to contact us anytime with questions, comments, or concerns. We pledge to continue working diligently to ensure you receive natural, wholesome, satisfying products.


Anonymous said...

I am so happy to hear that halal cheese exists!

Anonymous said...

I come in peace. If you google "Vegetarian Cheese List" you will find a list of cheeses that are sold in the United States that have been determined to be either made with microbial enzymes or animal enzymes. It will save you an extensive amount of research and allow you to eat worry free on some level.
Thanks for the posts about the goldfish, unfortunately I had one in my mouth when I realized it was too late. At least I can pass the information on to others

Anonymous said...

so even though the cabot colby jack cheese isn't halal certified, it's halal?