CLICK HERE FOR BLOGGER TEMPLATES AND MYSPACE LAYOUTS »

Monday, April 20, 2009

Lipton's Soups

A red flag with this brand, which will now queue us to be more careful with other brands is that in their soups they may list NATURAL FLAVORS in the ingredients section, which can be derived from animals. So the next time you see NATURAL FLAVORS on anything you buy... be wary...



Hello ,

Thanks for writing!


Most of our soups contain meat, meat derivatives, or dairy products.


Here are some exceptions :


MEAT, DAIRY & EGG FREE:


RECIPE SECRETS:

- Onion

- Onion Mushroom

- Vegetable


MEAT FREE, WITH DAIRY AND/OR EGGS:


CUP-A-SOUP:

- Broccoli & Cheese

- Cream of Mushroom

- Spring Vegetable

- Tomato


Ingredients of animal origin may be listed as meat (e.g., chicken or beef), fat (as in chicken fat), extract (such as beef extract, broth, or natural flavors).

But, we checked with our brand management, and they informed us that the natural flavors may or may not be derived from animal origin. There are many mixtures that we purchase from hundreds of flavor suppliers. If you are uncomfortable about the natural flavorings used they recommend that you do not use the product as we cannot guarantee that it is not of animal origin.
We hope this information is helpful.

Kind regards

Your friends at Unilever

Here are the safe ones as mentioned above:



7 comments:

Beauty Junkie said...

Lazeena, I know that this doesn't relate to the post, but I have a question. Isn't Lanolin derived from sheep's wool? Wouldn't that be halal? Or is just Lanolin Alcohol haram? I'm a little confused, as I found some website selling Lanolin creams and it had Halal Certifications. I'll try to find the link so you can take a look.

Beauty Junkie said...

http://www.salutist.com/halal.asp

I believe they are based in Australia

struggling said...

MashAllah this blog is a great idea, I'm glad I found it!

Anonymous said...

Assalamlaikum Lazeena,

I was looking for muslim sisters in NJ since I live in NJ too.I was wondering if you knew where I could get halal vanilla extract.I have looked up the ones available in Pathmark and they all contain 35% alcohol.

You're doing a great job.
Jazak Allah Khayr

Anonymous said...

Imitation vanilla usually doesn't have alcohol

purplerose said...

Assalamualaikum, Lazeena.

I'm trying to find out about the halal status of Heinz Cream of Tomato Soup.Can't seem to find it anywhere.Hope that you can help me as I use this tomato soup often in my cooking.I checked the ingredients and there is cream in it.I'm not sure if the cream used here is halal or not.Thank you.

Wassalam

Mohammed said...

www.halalfoodfinder.de website has a list of restaurants and eataries selling halal food across europe. Apart from that it also lists mosques
available across europe, hope it helps.