CLICK HERE FOR BLOGGER TEMPLATES AND MYSPACE LAYOUTS »

Wednesday, December 17, 2008

Wrigley's Gum

As salaamu alaikum

Sorry I've been lagging behind! Some companies I send inquiries to 'only discuss those matters over the phone'... okay...?

Others completely misunderstand my question. I sent an inquiry to a company and they replied back (via mail for whatever reason!) and this is a jist of their letter:

Thank you for contacting us inquiring if our products include any animal derivatives.

To answer your question, we are very proud to say we do not test our products on animals!

What the..?! HELLO! You just stated the question and then answered something totally off topic. Pshh!

Something I found frustrating is that while some ingredients can be derived from either plant or animals or synthetically made, most companies use whichever is available to them. This means, sometimes a bar of soap IS halal and sometimes it IS haram but because they bounce between the two we are never sure when it is okay to use, x-ing it off the list. After contacting some places they said they never even considered just sticking to one and that it even made a difference to some consumers. So contacting these companies can make a big difference.

***

Moving along, Wrigley's Gum has certainly come a long way. I remember just a couple of years ago there were several of their gums which did contain animal derived ingredients, and they've shown much progress in trying to make their products Halal, Kosher, and Vegetarian friendly alhamdulillah.

Here is a list of Halal gums they offer. Please note that this list only applies to consumers in the US and Canada as their ingredients differ from country to country. If you're in the Middle East no worries as their products are ALL Halal alhamdulillah. I see most of their products on the list, I think the only thing which I do not see are Altoid's Mints which have been known to be haram for years now, including pork gelatin as far as I know. You can point out anything you don't see - most likely it means they haven't made it Muslim-friendly as of yet.

Also, please note before reading this list that just because you may see your favorite brand name gum on here does not mean ALL their flavors are halal. Please be sure to check for the specific flavor on this list. Why? Because there are specific dyes used in foods which are animal derived believe it or not. So while a red colored gum may be halal, the yellow one may not. I don't believe this is the case with Wrigley's Gum, but just something to keep in mind inshaAllah.
Thank you for contacting the Wrigley Company to inquire about the use of animal-derived ingredients in our products sold in the United States.

The majority of Wrigley products sold in the U.S. are free from ingredients of animal origin, including egg and dairy products. A list of these acceptable products is included or attached with this response.

While a small percentage of the products we sell in the U.S. may contain ingredients of animal origin, we take great strides to ensure our products are free from any animal-based ingredients in geographies with dietary restrictions preventing such ingredients. For example, all Wrigley products sold in the Middle East and Indonesia are free from animal-derived ingredients.

Our priority is, and always will be, to manufacture only the highest quality confectionery products using ingredients that meet the needs of our customers around the world. By understanding our global customers and adjusting product offerings accordingly, we are able to deliver great tasting confections to more than 180 countries.

We hope this information is helpful.

U.S. Wrigley Products Without Animal-Derived Ingredients

• Wrigley's Spearmint® gum
• Doublemint® gum and mints
• Big Red® gum
• Juicy Fruit® stick gum
• Winterfresh® gum
• Five® Cobalt, Rain, Flare and Lush gums
• Extra® Cinnamon, Bubble Gum, Peppermint, Spearmint, Winterfresh, Cool Green Apple, Cool Watermelon, Supermint, Berry Pearadise and Fruit Sensations flavors
• Eclipse® gum and mints
• Hubba Bubba® chunk and tape gums
• Big League Chew® shredded gum
• Freedent® gum
• Orbit® Bubblemint, Wintermint, Peppermint, Spearmint, Cinnamint, Sweetmint, Citrusmint, Fabulous Fruitini, Lemon Lime, Maui Melon Mint, Mint Mojito, Raspberry Mint and Sangria Fresca
• Orbit® WhiteTM pellet gums
• LifeSavers® hard candies and LifeSavers® lollipops
• Altoids® Sours and Altoids® gum

19 comments:

lars shalom said...

"To eat any animals is sin, (he says) they took my blood and they are unclean..."

9:21 (a reference to the death of his peoples??)

Andrew said...

9:21 what? Is that from the Bible? Which book of the bible?

NiDa said...

Oh thank You sis. i always wondered about this! I have stopped chewing gum since the past 5 years because I never knew if they were Halal or not (although all I did chew was wrigleys so yaay :D). Can you also explain if 'alcohol sugar' is haram? because that is what most gums have too? Jazak Allah Khair for your efforts :)!

ipv6 said...

To answer your question, we are very proud to say we do not test our products on animals
-----------------
better say, we're very proud to say how stupid we are.

LOL

M. Ishaq Ziaee said...
This comment has been removed by the author.
orbit bubblemint said...

Yay! I'm so glad to know this about bubblemint gum!

Divane said...

OK, but what about the fact that some of these gums have sugar alcohol (which might be plain ethanol...) in them and this is clearly labeled at the back of the gum in the ingredients section? Did anyone do any research as to what this is and whether these are halal as opposed to being animal ingredient free... so much trouble getting gum here...

Riz said...
This comment has been removed by the author.
Riz said...

These are some helpful information. Thnx... But even among these gums, there are some we are prohibited(Haram) to eat... Please visit
http://www.sunniforum.com/forum/showthread.php?14231-Wrigleys-Haram-amp-Halal-Products-Alert!%28US%29

Eldar said...

How about sorbitol and xylithol components in the gum? Cuz as I know it's an alcohol types.

Anonymous said...

sugar alcohal is halal.
the term they used is very confusing, i know but it just means there is no sugar :D

Anonymous said...

can anyone of you mention some gums that ARE halal? cuz most of the gums that are mentioned there i used to eat UNTIL i read this post

Anonymous said...

Wrigleys gum is haram because it is made in the same factory as the one with animal so its touching the animal gum surface and thats why its haram and now i don't chew gum because amost all is wrigleys oh and btw i work at that factory and im gonna quit so ik alot about Wrigleys (MY JOB IS TO PUT THE GUMS IN A BOX BORIING!!!)

Anonymous said...

I heard that ALL Wrigley gums are considered haram because the halal ones (meaning the ones made without animal derived ingredients or alcohol) are made on the same line as the ones that contain animal- derived ingredients.
I got this information from:
www.canadianhalalfoods.com

Thank you.

Zabe said...

Are lifesaver gummies halal

Anonymous said...

What about excitmint mint chews,are they halal,it says made in Morocco(Arab country),and says beef gelatin ?

Anonymous said...

You guys should read this: http://islamqa.org/hanafi/qibla-hanafi/35538

Anonymous said...

hubba bubba may be halal, I don't know

I am a muslim that jerks

Anonymous said...

I don't know is jerking off is halal