CLICK HERE FOR BLOGGER TEMPLATES AND MYSPACE LAYOUTS »

Saturday, March 13, 2010

Cheez-Its!

"Lazeena,

Thank you for emailing us your questions regarding Sunshine® Cheez-It's®. We appreciate your interest in our company and products and are happy to answer your questions.

Kosher law is very complex. Some animals are prohibited from being consumed while others are allowed. If our product is labeled as Kosher, it does not contain any non-Kosher ingredients but may still contain Kosher approved animal ingredients including some meats and milk.

It appears that you are interested in knowing if Sunshine® Cheez-It® Original crackers contain any animal ingredients. The only animal derived ingredient in these crackers is milk. The enzymes used to make the cheese are from a microbial (yeast) source. No animal enzymes are used in Cheez-It® products.

No Cheez-It® products contain alcohol. If a product's ingredients include natural and/or artificial flavors, these ingredients can be processed with alcohol. However, during the baking of our crackers, all of the alcohol is evaporated leaving no alcohol in the final product.

I do hope this information answers your questions and that you will be able to enjoy our cheezy crackers!


Sincerely,


R.A.J.
Consumer Affairs Department"

4 comments:

Anonymous said...

Lazeena, or anyone else reading this, I've been searching for a halal cheese popcorn brand in the US. Does anyone know of any??

MuslimMeals.com said...

This is exactly the kind of proactive research us Muslims should be doing!

Lynn Nasir said...

salam..

alcohol is not halal because it's "alcohol". whether it will be evaporated during baking or not, it is still cannot be consume by a muslim. as stated by an Ustazah back then when me on high school.

wallahualam..

Destiny said...
This comment has been removed by the author.